Adam Presley
1 min readJun 8, 2023

--

I have tried a number of "cloud dev environments" over the last few years. I really want to love the idea. But in practice, I end up abandoning them for the following reasons.

1. Most tend to use VSCode as an editor. VSCode is great, but I'm a Vim guy. I have my tooling setup in such a way that I can be as productive as possible, and Vim is my tool of choice.

2. The latency is still too high. Even with my 1st world fast internet, it's just not there yet. The smallest lag is perceptible, and it is jarring to me. Maybe it's just me. :)

3. Some of these tools are pretty rudimentary. There are *many* command-line tools I make use of throughout an average day to do my work, and a lot of these cloud IDE/dev environments are lacking in that department.

I like the idea of cloud-based development environments, but for me, it just isn't there yet. I suspect one day this will change, and I look forward to the day I can try it out and change my mind. :)

--

--

Adam Presley

Just a guy who loves his wife, kids, and writing software.